Trout Fishery or Reservoir

ripples

Hello all.

This is my first post, so be kind to me?

I am new to fly fishing and have so far fished Jubilee Lakes (Co Durham) and Narborough Trout Lakes (Norfolk) and two Reservoirs ( Sweethope and Fewston,

My question is do you think it is wise for a beginner to try the larger stillwaters or stick with the higher stocking levels of the first two I mentioned.

Yes you're correct, I blanked at the Reservoirs, Sweethope was last night and Fewston two weeks ago,

I am now starting to question my technique etc (although a lot has yet to be learnt I admit)

All advice welcome?

Thanks.

I dont like resevoirs because I think they are too daunting - and I've been fishing for 8 years. If you want nice fish and a challenge then fish resevoirs, but I keep to nice fisheries, and enjoy it much more than places like Farmoor.

Tight Lines,

Matt AKA "The Kid!"

FishingPosts

I agree with the suggestions to start on the smaller fisheries.

By catching fish, you will improve your technique and your confidence.

You should also vary the flies and lures you use, also the methods of fishing them.

This will help you, when you move on to the larger reservoirs and the rivers........because you will. :)

"I gotta go where its warm, I gotta fly to saint somewhere "

ripples:

Hello all.

This is my first post, so be kind to me?

I am new to fly fishing and have so far fished Jubilee Lakes (Co Durham) and Narborough Trout Lakes (Norfolk) and two Reservoirs ( Sweethope and Fewston,

My question is do you think it is wise for a beginner to try the larger stillwaters or stick with the higher stocking levels of the first two I mentioned.

Yes you're correct, I blanked at the Reservoirs, Sweethope was last night and Fewston two weeks ago,

I am now starting to question my technique etc (although a lot has yet to be learnt I admit)

All advice welcome?

Thanks.