Using a plummet to find the depth

carpin crazy

Hi all , have seen some people on the lake i fish using plummets to find the depth of the water, i have never used one before and have heard they are of a real use. Can anyone show me how to use one ?

Not just of "real use", in my opinion it's essential.

The following link with it's animated description, is easier to follow than me just trying to tell you.

http://www.pleasurefishing.com/html/plumbingdepth.htm

There's some other info on there, that the beginner will find useful.

John.

Angling is more than just catching fish, if it wasn't it would just be called 'catching'......... John

Gozzer is right. Plumbing the depth is essential - you need to know where your bait is, and if it's where it needs to be....I made the mistake of not plumbing up properly when I first started fishing...it didn't take me long to realise that it was an essential part of angling!

Learn how to do it correctly and it will make a whole world of difference to your angling experience!

Janet

Guest tigger

I never used to bother plumbing the depth (still don't on most occasions) and always usually caught fish ok. I just guessed the depth and adjusted my float/depth to my liking. Often the best place to fish is up in the water. People seem to have an obsession with fishing bottom nowerdays and it certainly isn't always the best place for your bait.

I never used to bother plumbing the depth (still don't on most occasions) and always usually caught fish ok. I just guessed the depth and adjusted my float/depth to my liking. Often the best place to fish is up in the water. People seem to have an obsession with fishing bottom nowerdays and it certainly isn't always the best place for your bait.

Just because you plumb the swim, it doesn't mean you have to fish on the bottom, but it's a good place to start.

Unless it's intercepted, your loose feed ends up there.