Tandem fishing

Podro

Hello All

After a few weeks lurking on here I've got up the courage to sign up and ask a question. I'm planning on getting a kayak for fishing with my 10-year-old fishing mad son. His mum doesn't want him to have a seperate kayak and would want us to go out on a tandem. Is this feasible? Could 2 people easily fish from an Ocean Malibu 2?

I've had some experience fishing from kayaks nearly 30 years ago in fibreglass sit-ins that we built at school and paddled in Seaford bay for mackerel. I don't have any experience of these sit-ons though. Any advice gratefully received.

Cheers

Podro

Hiya Pedro...Welcome to the friendly site :)

I have only been fishing from the Kayak(Sit on Top) a few times now.But IMO they are very stable and easy to fish from.But there are alot more ppl on this site that can give you some good advice.

As for Tandem Kayaks here is a link to look at;

http://www.bournemouthcanoes.co.uk/tandem-...sit-on-tops.htm

Tight lines.

Mark

zzippy2.gif

Hi Podro.

Welcome.

The Malibu 2 does look suitable although the XL version may be a better option as it has a greater weight capacity and a more versatile seating arrangement. Paddling this on your own may be harder work though.

I think there are a few members here who have fished/been out tandem & will be able to give you a fuller answer.

[ 20. May 2005, 03:05 PM: Message edited by: Speciman ]

Kaskazi Dorado - Yellow

Hi Podro,

My friend has 2 Malibu II's one for his wife and daughter the other for his son and he to fish from, his son is 9.

We took my 4 year old out 2 years ago, fishing from Mackerel from one, it was a very calm evening.

There a couple of pictures on www.anglersafloat.co.uk

The Malibu II has 3 seats, and can also be paddled alone, although it is heavy alone, it's increadibly stable, and reasonably dry to paddle. If you buy one go for the optional High back seats, you won't regret it.

SM :)

http://www.anglersafloat.co.uk