Zander fish-in - October

Anderoo

I've been threatening do try to arrange this for a couple of years now(!) - can we have a show of hands of people interested in a day afloat at Rutland in October fishing for predators? There are plenty of zander and quite a few pike (including some big ones) and the odd perch. In Oct the weekends are open and you can fish with either lures or sea fish baits.

Vertical jigging for zander is probably the most fun method but it's up to you.

Boat hire plus predator ticket is about £60 for 2 people, so about £30 each. I think you can also get 3 people in a boat if you like. Some more info here: http://www.anglianwater.co.uk/leisure/what-to-do/fishing/pike.aspx and http://www.anglianwater.co.uk/_assets/media/predator-fishing-2014.pdf

If enough people are interested and we can settle on a date, I'll book the boats for us. It would be good to arrange it soonish if possible in case some dates get booked up.

Any questions, ask away :)

8 Oct:
- me
- jv44
- rusty
- Steve walker
- Matthew Simmons
- Alex
- Tigger
- Vagabond
- Norma

24 Oct:
All TBC

UPDATE

Directions

Copy this into Google Maps and it'll show you where the entrance to the lodge and marina is: 52.641071,-0.625802

When you get there

Press at the barrier for a ticket to let you in. Follow the road down to the right, the marina and lodge is then down on your left. There are a few parking spots down by the boats, if those are full there are plenty of others nearby.

Make sure you take your parking ticket into the lodge when getting your fishing ticket - they will swap it for a token which lets you leave at the exit barrier later (so the parking is free).

Boat bookings and payment

All 5 boats are booked under my name but you will need to pay on the day in the lodge. The cost of boat hire plus predator permit for 2 anglers sharing a boat is £60, so £30 each. When paying for your boat you'll be asked to provide a mobile number in cases of emergencies.