The Skerries - Plaice Fishing Trip

SpeciMan

Have been reading over the link Zzippy posted earlier. On this page there is advice on how to catch them. I guess it will depend on how far out we go which part we fish etc etc but it does seem that there is a reasonable tide flow and we will have to use more weight to keep our baits hard on the bottom. Does anyone know if we could target them on the drift there?

Kaskazi Dorado - Yellow

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Speciman

I am not an expert by any means but have fished the skerries several times.

The strength of the tide makes all the difference on the banks and the use of braid of course. I have only ever drift fished with light gear from a boat but I understand that anchoring can be more affective for ray.

The last time I fished the Skerries we spent 6 hours using crab and worm baits hard on the bottom with out a single bite. Decided to just free line a sandeel and picked up eight place in half an hour. Only had ten eels with us bugger!!!

Yaskalos or Musket would be able to give a lot more of an in-site than me I'm sure, as I say I'm no expert on tides / conditions etc .

Chuggs

Speciman,

I see the link you've posted is to Mike Concannon's Fishing Dartmouth site.

If you have any queries about the Skerries that Mike hasn't included in the article, just send him an email. Mike is a friend of mine, and a nicer, more helpful bloke you couldn't wish to meet. He knows the Skerries well and has fished it for many years from his own boat...I've fished there with him with a good amount of success.

Its a bit of a trek from Dartmouth. esp if paddling (I imagine, as I've never actually paddled there..or anywhere...yet). In the right weather I would say that Slapton Sands might make a good launch point. From there its more or less straight out to the Skerries.

Mike