I was Once a Crew on a Commercial fishing Boat

sam-cox

As most of you guys on here know I am in a fairly unique situation, my farther was a charter skipper who has been campaigning against the over fishing of bass for thirty years. On the flip side of that when I left school I worked as a crew on a commercial fishing boat for two seasons, then did anouther two complete seasons from 1994 and half a seasom in 1996 and half a season in 2000.

When I left school it was winter herring fishing mostly offshore, then as spring aproached it was inshore tremmel neting for, codling, soles, thornbacks and odd early bass. This fishing was fairly distructive asASMASHED OUT THE NET WITH AN MALLET.

In 1994 all the work was offshore on the Kentish Knock drift neting for bass, most of these fish were 36cm to 45cm with the odd larger fish and no undersized fish. We averaged 45 stone per day for 3 months with 65 stone being the best trip I was on.

uP UNTIL 1999 I would sell my rod caught catches of bass and thornbacks around the rastrants and houses locally to earn extra cash, since then I have learnt that this under cuts the local commercials and forces them to sell more fish at a cheaper price.

In 1996 all the work was inshore drift netting for bass and mullet with a few thornbacks and soles as a buy catch. To me this also was distructive as at times we got lots of crabs, alis shad , the odd flounder and lots of bass.

I once caught 17 stone of thornbacks from up an inshore creek at dawn in two foot of water, these fish would of substained a charter boat for two or three trips!

\I once caught 25 stone of large mullet from the same creek, these fish were mosty large fish that would of been at least 10 years old and good breeding stock!

These inshore fisheries to my mind now need protecting as they are very foundation of the marine eco system, if we look after the foundations then both commercial fisherman and recreational anglers would benifit.

Edited by sam-cox

BASS MEMBER