Fishing the Firth of Forth (Edinburgh, East of Scotland)

taz

Hello, I am new to anglers net and was hoping some of you out there could help me out. My father in law has just purchased an old Shetland 535 boat with 55 BHP engine. Our intention is to take it out into the Firth of Forth to go fishing.

I am not a novice fisherman but am by no means an expert. I was hoping to get advice on the following:-

1. Where are best places to fish on the Firth of Forth (we will be launching the boat anywhere from Granton to North Berwick).

2. What kind of fish (if any) should be expect to catch?

3. How will we catch them? I mean what tackle, bait and techniques should we use?

I hope someone out there has experience of fishing these waters and could help me out.

Thanks

Hi there,

I would drive the short distance to dunbar, launch about 3 hours either side of high tide and find some nice gullies to drift along, use small pirks, 6-8oz, or a 2 hook rig with a large silver spoon built into the rig body (causes mental vibrations that the fish love), bait with either small chunks of mackerel, mussels or lugworm, and you should get into plenty cod, ling, coalies, and the odd catfish!!! can have a right good day out there. Ive found the bigger tides best

Hi Taz, Welcome to AN.I would agree with Dans post.... I have only ever done charter trips around Dunbar, but they have all been decent trips. I/we use Mussel,Mackeral,Rag, on Hokkais,to get Cod,Coalies,and Pollock,you will also get Mackeral,Scorpion Fish,and once my mate got a beaut of a Plaice, and a Catfish (or Wolffish)in the same day.....I do a bit of dinghy fishing off the Fife coast now and then,and catch the same species of fish. Hope this is of some help to you ... :D

In sleep every dog dreams of food,and I, a fisherman,dream of fish..

Theocritis..

For Fantastic rods,and rebuilds. http://www.alba-rods.co.uk/