Hunt Saboteurs Target Anglers

Angling Trust News Release Sabs try to disrupt cormorant campaign and call for anglers to be shot The Hunt Saboteurs Association this week launched a misguided attempt to disrupt the Angling Trust’s Cormorant Watch website by encouraging its supporters to record bogus sightings of cormorants, goosanders and mergansers. When the site was set up to campaign for

Environment Agency unveils new fishing licence images that celebrates Dick Walker and Clarissa the Carp

To the delight of the country’s anglers, the Environment Agency has revealed today that Clarissa the Carp (Cyprinus carpio) - for 28 years a UK record weighing Carp - will be represented on the front of the Environment Agency’s fishing coarse & trout licence. Clarissa was chosen to mark the centenary birth of renowned angler

Date change for Wessex Water Challenge fishing and running fundraiser

Fishing for Schools founder and director Charles Jardine has changed the date of his fundraising Wessex Water Challenge to 7 and 8 April because of weather concerns. Charles, of Charlton All Saints near Salisbury will fish for trout at three Wessex Water fisheries, running the 60 miles between venues, all in 24 hours, in aid

Government Dismisses Otter Petition

Government dismisses Otter Petition but Angling Trust continues to press Natural England over otter releases Last week the Government dismissed the 11,000 signature Barbel Society petition calling for ‘non lethal control’ of the UK’s otter population and refused to recognise that their numbers can be ‘detrimental to the river environment’. It firmly ruled out the

Angling Trust National Teams and Competition Group announces the International Sea Angling Teams for 2018

The National Teams and Competition Group of the Angling Trust are delighted to announce the International teams for 2018. The squads selected are; Men’s Shore squad – Ian Bowell, Andrew Dugdale, George Smith, Kenny McCoy, Neil Cutler, Ben Arnold, Richard Yates, Saul Page, Richard Yates, Gareth Griffiths, Darren Newland, Ian Dancey, Julian Shambrook, Bill Lindfield,