World's Strangest Fishing Techniques

John Waldman

Greetings,

I am an American fish biologist and writer, and an honorary member of your BASS Society, who is seeking help from your membership. I am 2/3 finished with a new book on the world's strangest and most clever fishing techniques from earliest history through the present, recreational, commercial, or otherwise. The only other criterion is that the techniques be repeatable--I am not looking for one-time gimmicks.

Right now I have about 80 topics, a sampling of which includes: electroshocking and blast fishing; fishwheels; Sulawesi spider web fishing; salmon-leap traps; natural poisons; Japanese ayu fishing; cormorant, otter, and remora fishing; jugging for catfish; bowfishing and shooting spawning pike with rifles; catching gar on hookless flies; hand fishing and tickling trout; etc.

I know you don't have my whole list but my general question is: is anyone aware of any really exotic approaches I might have missed?

Specifically, I am looking for details and also good anecdotes concerning some UK techniques, including: vingling for sand eels; slating; poling for mullet; and putchers.

Finally, I also would love to hear about approaches to fishing from tall cliffs.

I also can be reached directly at john@hudsonriver.org.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

John Waldman

Hudson River Foundation

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest sslatter

Hi John..

Forgive me if you are already familiar with the fishing technique I'm about to describe, but a couple of years ago, I watched a UK documentary on TV, part of which concerned a certain island in Japan (the name escapes me) where there is a local ceremonial fishing technique, the practice of which I found extremely fascinating.