seatrout

Guest Darrin Simpson

Guest Darrin Simpson

can anyone help ? i want to try fishing for seatrout on the adur in sussex ie, best time, type of spinner or fly and how do i find out where the fish lay, rising or falling tide. hope someone can point me in the right direction thanks;

Guest TheDacer

Hi Mate, I'd like to help but I'm a complete novice at Fly fishing.

Is the Sea-Trout the same as the Sewin in Wales?? If so, I once saw a bloke fishing for them using a fly (ie. not a spinner) and he was having no problem getting a few.

Someone on here should be able to help you much more than that, however....

Guest Mike Connor

Seatrout ( which are sea-run or "anadromous", brown trout), are quite difficult fish to catch consistently.

The runs vary somewhat from place to place, but in Europe ( UK included), they usually ascend the rivers from June to the end of February. In most places, the season ends in either September or October.

Most succesful sea-trout anglers fish at night,( In rivers, and in the sea), as this gives better opportunities of approaching the fish.

There are a number of techniques which can prove successful. On occasion, sub surface flies, from 14 to 8, like "Peter Ross", "Zulu", "Mallard and Claret" and quite a few other of the "traditional" flies will do the business. It is important to fish the flies slowly. This is done by line -control, and mending.

On other occasions, "wake" flies ( muddler minnow, etc ) may prove successful, when allowed to drift across a pool on the surface, providing a wake.

When it is cold, then the fish may often be deep, and it pays to try a sinking line and a fish imitation in the deep pools.

Tube flies are very popular as well. For patterns, a black lure with a silver body ( silver tinsel body, wing of black arctic fox, throat hackle red or orange) will do for practically all occasions.

Sometimes a "shrimp" type fly will prove successful. ( "Allies Shrimp", small "General Practitioner", etc