getting started

Guest kev7dags

Guest kev7dags

hello

I have been fishing for about 3 years (came late to the sport)I have lived in Cyprus for all of that time and have pleasure fished and match fished for course fish.I am returning to the UK shortly (nr Inverness)and I would like to get some fairly basic advice for game fishing.Are there any good and informative web sites or books you can recommend to me prior to me actually arriving in Scotland and purchasing some new(or second hand I'm not proud)gear.Also is there anyone on the forum who hails from this neck of the woods who could tell me the best methods used in that part of the world.I hope this query is not to vague as i'm only after some basic info and the means by which I can gain a better grasp of this type of fishing.My approach to course fishing started in this manner and over the years I have used varius sorces of info to first learn the basics and then improve upon them.

Thanks for any help in this matter

Kev

Kev,

Hope you enjoy fly fishing.

You could do worse than look at sexyloops.co.uk

The guy who puts it together (Paul Arden)is an ace casting instructor. The site covers basic stuff as well as more complicated.

He also sells gear at sensible prices and his site recommends specific products.

The only advice I will offer is for you to invest in some casting instruction before you teach yourself a load of bad habits.

There are two tackle shops in Scotland that advertise goos deals on trout gear in the magazines - Mike's Tackle Shop in Edinburgh and Glasgow Angling Centre.

Magazines to look at include: Trout Fisherman, Trout and Salmon

Hope this helps,

Tim Marks

Hi Kev,

What a lucky man you are in moving to Inverness, I envy you.

You will be spoilt for choice there are literally hundreds if not thousands of lochs and lochans to fish with a fair few that are free.

Although I live in Sheffield I have spent many a holiday around Inverness.