Fly Fishing In Ireland

Elton

Anyone able to help this guy?

quote:

Can anyone help me please.  I am going to the Dingle Pennisula on the 09/03/02 for one week and would love to fly fish while I am there.

My problem is I have never done it before and know nothing about it or the relevant requirements for fishing in Ireland.  I would be grateful if someone could tell me where I can fish in this area for sea trout and give me some pointers on the best way to fish using a fly. 

If anyone can suggest a good clear book I would be grateful.  Also do I need any special licences e.g. rod and line or special permits to fish and if so any idea how much these cost.

Many thanks in desperation,

Shaun

Anglers' Net Shopping Partners - Please Support Your Forum

CLICK HERE for all your Amazon purchases - books, photography equipment, DVD's and more!

CLICK HERE for Go Outdoors. HUGE discounts!

FOLLOW ANGLERS' NET ON TWITTER- CLICK HERE - @anglersnet

PLEASE 'LIKE' US ON FACEBOOK - CLICK HERE

• 1 month later...

its a pity I just joined but if anyone reads this fishing in ireland does not require a licence for trout and a lot of rivers and lakes do not require a permit.

The bibles on fishing in Ireland are by Peter O'Reilly - easily available in good book stores or amazon.com

The Trout and salmon rivers of ireland

The trout and salmon lakes of ireland

All details regarding where to go- what permission to seek and even what flies to use are conatined within.

However, always check if you can locally about how the water is fishing when you arrive.

Another good site is www.cfb.ie

Elton:

quote:

Can anyone help me please.  I am going to the Dingle Pennisula on the 09/03/02 for one week and would love to fly fish while I am there.