fly fising in the north east england (and lake garda, italy)

ross_mc

im new to fly fishing and wanted to know if there was anyone of the forum that was from the area and could direct me to a few good spots. also if anyone knows of anyone who does tuition on the fine art of fly fishing as i seem to be in a bit over my head. who would have thought there was so much to fly fishing!

im also going to lake garda in italy for my friends wedding and im making a bit of a holiday of it and by going for a week. ive read a few things about the rivers that flow into the lake being good for trout but other than that i cant seem to find out anymore.

can someone clear up one more question for me regarding a fishing license for england, am i correct in thinking i need a separate license for fly fishing, one of my friends seems to think i need a gaming license? i have my normal fishing license.

hope someone can help as im really keen on getting going with my new rod.

Hi Ross,

I live nr. Darlington (grew up in the lake district) and I often go to trout lakes around and about. Where bouts you located?

re. the rod licence.

you don't need a separate licence for fly fishing. One licence is all you need. If your going to fish for Salmon and sea trout then you need;

£70 'Salmon and migratory trout (sea trout)., non-migratory trout, char, freshwater fish (coarse fish) and eels' - which covers all fish basically.

Otherwise just the one below is sufficient;

£26 Non-migratory trout, char, freshwater fish (coarse fish) and eels

all can be found HERE

Hope that helps

ahh, im living at my nanas house in darlo at the minute, in redhall estate, its lovely, haha. im from durham originally. ive been up to aldin grange and had a chat with the old bloke who runs the fishing tackle shop, he said he does tuition so i was thinking about starting there. any ideas if this bloke knows a thing or two, or hes just getting some extra beer tokens? lol