A tentative step into kayaking

Houseplant

As I'm about to move down to Devon, I'm very tempted to get a kayak. I probably know the answer to this, but is there a cheap/easy way of getting started before comitting to a £600 purchase? I was thinking of an inflatable kayak.

Failing that, can someone give me a good starter model. I've found loads of threads/websites reviewing kayaks, but no definitive recommendations. As a newbie, I'm thinking the most desirable feature is stability!

Thanks very much

Andrew

Jack Pike Hunter Extraordinaire

I've just started too Andrew - had my first paddle on Saturday!

I live in Devon and so went to AS Watersports in Exeter for some advise. They did me a great deal on a Manta Ray 12, threw in some extras like a paddle and discounted me a trolley too.

The Manta Ray is very stable, I had trouble tipping it to practise a deep water self-rescue, and is supposed to be quite fast for a sit-on-top. It's got tons of space (I can stow my Ctug trolley in the front hatch), a decent seat and lots of things that I have no idea what they are, but I assume I will when I get fishing!

I looked at some other kayaks and then did some research and asked on here. It came down to the Tarpon V Manta Ray and the Manta won.

Drop me a line when you get down here if you want.

Good luck

Steve

I would wait until some of the older models are going second hand. You can pick one up with many extras for pretty cheap. The new line of Ocean Kayaks is supposed to be available in the UK in July. Should be quite a few. I wish I would have waited for the new line. :) But I was pretty excited to get started myself.

New OK Line

Taken originally from here.

There is also a thread about the inflatables mostly with undesirable attributes. I would avoid them. I thought the same about stability but I haven't had any problems with it yet. Easy to master.