Website Building & Registration

jedibond

Hello all,

A couple of friends of mine are starting a new venture and they asked me about setting up a website, etc. Now I know next to nothing about this but because I used to work in IT as a project manager, my friends assume that I know all this stuff. As anyone will tell you, us PM's don't know anything, we have techies who do all that stuff for us and as long as they assure me it works then that's fine.

Anyway, back to my friends. The business they're going into doesn't require anything all singing and dancing, it will literally be a shop window to say hear we are and this is what we do. No eCommerce required or anything like, just some basic pages with contact info, list of upcoming events, photos etc. of past events and maybe some links to social media sites.

Some of the prices I've been quoted have been truly eye watering and as they're starting out they want something seriously cheap. What would be the cheapest way of getting them off the ground ?

Ian

"If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving isn't for you"

Cheapest way is one of th freebie services you see advertised but thy can be limiting with design and style etc.

Hosting and domain is cheap anyway; no more than £10 quid to set up and register a domain for a couple of years maybe £3 a month to host after that. That's a very basic service with maybe 5 gig of storage and no ecommerce etc, but it will have domain emails.

If they get that sorted and they ain't after anything fancy than I would think an amateur might do the job for 50-60 quid for a few pages or a template.

I've done them for less myself! But I'm a bit out of touch with php etc mine are basic like the angling club one in my signature.

Andy might know of someone or be willing to help.

Edited by kirisute

If you don't want to spend much there is a service called Wix (http://www.wix.com) which has a free or premium service.