New garden pond

Steve Burke

Having finished renovating and extending our cottage we're left with a bare back garden. As many of you will know I'm very keen on wildlife and run Wingham not just as a fishery but also as a nature reserve. The idea is to create a mini nature reserve in our garden.

My first thought is to start with a pond and then add the garden after that so to speak. However I'm a complete beginner with garden ponds and so could do with a lot of advice.

The pond would eventually have fish, but it wouldn't be a must right from the beginning as it would be for the benefit of all wildlife. I'd like it to be as natural as possible, so was thinking of using a liner to create a somewhat irregular shape of about 4m x 3m.

I'd like it to be low maintenance as I've got 170 acres to look after at Wingham and that's now becoming a full time job!

Any advice would be gratefully received, especially with regard to exactly what to buy and where to buy it from.

Wingham Specimen Coarse & Carp Syndicates www.winghamfisheries.co.uk Beautiful, peaceful, little fished gravel pit syndicates in Kent with very big fish. 2017 Forum Fish-In Sat May 6 to Mon May 8. Articles http://www.anglersnet.co.uk/steveburke.htm Index of all my articles on Angler's Net

I would first make a plan of how the finished garden will look. This will ensure you have access to all parts easily without have to tread on or across bits. We have a number of bark paths for that. If you can incorporate a stream, you can incorporate pools where birds can wash and drink.

A small waterfall will also help to aerate the water. I stopped using pumps with fountains as the nozzles get blocked and you end up with one free nozzle which because of the pressure will give one spout which can empty the pond very quickly.

Make sure the pond is deep enough (3-4 feet) to allow the eventual fish to survive a winter.

Do not put carp in as you will always have a muddy pond

Incorporate some ledges for marginal plants