Pike drop off indicators

markp

Right chaps what are the best ones to buy as all of my past pike fishing has been with floats? Would you go electronic? Could i utelise my bog standard alarms with a rear drop off? Over to you who know best?

PC280003.jpg

These are my balls in action i have been using them for years they have been crushed frozen stuffed into my old bag still work great a simple table tennis type with a wire stem and the line clip is adjusted by a small piece of rubber you can also hear them slapping against your bank stick when you get a run ,the fox ones have a better line clip :rolleyes:

Ive been using some ET Backbiters that I converted since 1988.No problems at all.

I prefer rear mounted alarms as opposed to front ones when piking as I use liver baits regularly and dont want the false blips you get with them.

If this isnt a problem to you then use front alarms (in conjunction with a rear drop off indicator of course) by all means.

This may help if you want to make your own indicators-

http://www.fishingmagic.com/news/article/mps/UAN/481/V/4/SP/

Every year I promise to do a quick article on converting/making your own "Backbiter" style alarms but never get round to it!

And thats my "non indicative opinion"!

I usually use a fox micron up the front and a fox dropback indicator

TBH I'll always try and use floats where I can i.e when distance and water flow isn't an issue...best indicator so long as you keep a watchful eye !

There's 2 schools of thought on whether to use front or rear alarms when piking. This is one of the few times that I disagree with Budgie, but it's just a matter of personal preference. When livebaiting I actually prefer to hear the little bleeps as they tell me what the bait is doing, plus they often give me an earlier indication of a run. Naturally I have the volume turned right down so only I can hear the bleeps.