Camping, Fishing & Eating Your Catch

Elton

Posted on behalf of Tom. Please add all replies to this thread. I'll also post a link from the fly-fishing forum, as that may well be a more appropriate suggestion.

Let's not send this one down the "just do what the immigrants do, etc.", please... :)

I have found it very difficult to obtain the information I am looking for from just browsing the net and wondered if you could enlighten me somewhat.

A friend and I have recently got quite keen on fishing and have done a fair amount of coarse fishing at a local club. We have both mentioned how great it would be to go camping for a weekend next to a lake or river and as I am a keen wannabe chef, would love to catch our meals and generally live off the land Ray Mears style for a couple of days.

I appreciate that there are obviously laws governing: where you can fish, and what, at different times of the year. We are quite keen on sticking to open land and not staying at a campsite to make it a really peaceful break away, but I’m finding it hard to locate a suitable place where we can legally fish, camp, and cook.

I really want to find out where we can legally fish and camp in the open countryside, and what laws would affect us. I have mentioned we would like to eat some of what we catch but also realise there are environmental laws governing how much one is allowed to take for personal consumption.

I try to be as environmentally aware as I can and although quite keen on a trip of this nature; I would want to know that we’re both being responsible, and obviously not doing anything illegal either.

Any advice on where we could go and the necessary permits needed would be greatly appreciated.

Anglers' Net Shopping Partners - Please Support Your Forum

CLICK HERE for all your Amazon purchases - books, photography equipment, DVD's and more!

CLICK HERE for Go Outdoors. HUGE discounts!

FOLLOW ANGLERS' NET ON TWITTER- CLICK HERE - @anglersnet