How do you make your own pole rigs ?

rarepleasures

I'm still relatively new to fishing and I've been using a telescopic whip more and more these days.

Up till now I've been buying ready make rigs and cutting them down to suit the depth of the water.

I thought it was about time I tried to make my own. I was thinking of starting simply with some pretied hooklinks that I would loop to loop on a mainline rig.

Is this the best way to get started ?

What sort of line is suitalbe for the rig length ?

Any other tips ?

Tony

I'm still relatively new to fishing and I've been using a telescopic whip more and more these days.

Up till now I've been buying ready make rigs and cutting them down to suit the depth of the water.

I thought it was about time I tried to make my own. I was thinking of starting simply with some pretied hooklinks that I would loop to loop on a mainline rig.

Any other tips ?

It's very easy, just tie a loop in the end of whatever mainline you want to use and clip it into the stonflo (or whatever connector you have) and cut it to the length you want (with a whip that's usually the length of the whip so you're fishing to-hand) minus the length of a hooklength (12-18" or so). Put on a float using very thin float rubbers. Tie a loop in the end of the line and attach a hooklength loop-to-loop (you can use pre-tied ones or tie your own - it's only a bit of line with a hook on one end and a loop in the other). Then add shot/styls. Use a lot of small ones rather than one or two big ones so you have more flexibility with shotting patterns depending on the conditions. Wind it onto a winder and you're done!

It helps with netting and baiting if the whole length is a few inches shorter than the length of your whip, and if you like you can write line strength, hook size, etc. on the side of the winder for later reference.

Edited by Anderoo

And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music

Any other tips ?