What am I doing wrong

chris parker

Is it me, am I doing something wrong?

How many times do you see a request for wrecks/marks posts and how many replies do they have?

I have answered numerous posts of this type and have offered confirmed wreck marks to several people on forums who are asking for them. I have posted replys and sent personal emails with my home phone number to them offering what they are requesting and not one has got in touch.

Personally I think we should all be encouraging and supportive to fellow fishermen especially beginners. I have 30 odd years of boat fishing and remember those people along the way who helped me.

Is there a problem with giving people marks? Is there some sort of forum etiquet that as a beginner I am not aware of?

Chris

You aren't doing anything wrong. There does however seem to be a bit of the Secret Squirrel about a lot of anglers these days, particularly in the coarse fishing game, carp & barbel especially (you should have seen the fuss when someone posted a complete description of some barbel swims in a post on one of the barbel forums - you'd think he'd just sold the crown jewels!).

I think one of the beauties of the internet is that it lets people ask questions and get answers with the minimum of effort and with anonymity. Asking someone to ring someone they don't know and who they don't know the pedigree of is too much like hard work for a lot of people. I know I'd feel a bit uncomfortable ringing someone cold, even if invited, but then I've always been a bit shy anyway

So I think the answer is don't give up - it costs you nothing and will hopefully be useful to someone at some point :)

DISCLAIMER: All opinions herein are fictitious. Any similarities to real

opinions, living or dead, are entirely coincidental.

Hello Chris.

You`re not doing anything wrong. Their are just too many selfish anglers around. Even on this site?