First Digi SLR

GB

Hi All

My missus has just told me to choose a digitial slr for my birthday. This will be my first dslr.

I went to jessops and had a look at the cannon EOS 400D with an 18-55 lens and also the EOS 350D with an 18-55 and a 55-200 plus a battery grip.

Question is I am a novice and would like advice and thoughts on both models.

The 400 has an extra 2 megapixels, is this really that important?

The 350 has the battery grip and an extra lens, are these items that important.

If I chose the 400 I would probably spend the money saved on another lens at a later date.

Any advice welcome.

GB

1 on the lure is worth 2 from the bait.

Location Pembrokeshire

Kayak's

OK Prowler Trident Yellow

Kaskazi Pelican Orange on White ( CEZI B ) from www.kayakuk.com

Wilderness Tarpon 120 Yellow

Dughters Kayak OK Venus Blue & White (Kristi Boo)

Cobra Fish & Dive Blue

Tamar For Angle R.N.L.I

I use the 300D, an older version.

I would go for the 350D, the grip and extra lens. Sounds like an excellant starter pack to me.

I don't think megapixels are that important, depends on what you are using the pics for.

Have a look at the camera features, they to me are more important, and will you/can you make use of them, either now or in the future.

Best of luck, and keep us informed, but post some shots and keep asking questions, its the only way to learn.

If all else fails, follow the intructions.

I use the 300D, an older version.

I would go for the 350D, the grip and extra lens. Sounds like an excellant starter pack to me.

I don't think megapixels are that important, depends on what you are using the pics for.

Have a look at the camera features, they to me are more important, and will you/can you make use of them, either now or in the future.

Best of luck, and keep us informed, but post some shots and keep asking questions, its the only way to learn.

Thanks CM

I dont intend on making large prints so the megapixels are not that important to me.