"Translation" tool available with go-fishing.co.uk

Guest janet@tryangling

Guest janet@tryangling

Hi Elton

As a "lurker" at anglersnet for the past year or so it feels very strange to be posting a reply, especially since it's to criticise - NOT anglersnet or go-fishing I hasten to add - but the machine translation tool supplied with go-fishing.co.uk ...

Machine translation still has a loooong way to go before being unleashed on an innocent public!

I "translated" the TryAngling website with Systrans and had a good laugh at the appalling translations it came up with - until I sobered up and realised that our European visitors might think that we endorsed the translation and that it would reflect badly on us!

I should add that I work in the translation industry (varying levels of knowledge in French, Dutch, German and Spanish) and badly translated websites is a hot issue at the moment. A well-known search engine which also supplies a machine translation employed a translation company to translate it's website. When asked why they didn't use the machine translation tool they marketed, the translator was greeted with hoots of laughter and a "but seriously, ..." response.

Using Systrans, I've translated a portion of the "French" translation of the TryAngling website back to English to give you an idea of what French speaking visitors are reading in their native tongue:

"REVIEW OF RELUM 4 1/2 CENTER PINE.

Have you will know yew you cuts visited this site before both real Gordons and I are very bottom of using center pine, infact one of my hand failings in this sport is that I choose swims that edge Be fished with has center pine rather than those that hold fish.