help me to fish the pole

Guest matthayes

Guest matthayes

Ive just bought a second hand maver 11 metre pole of a friend,im hoping to use it on the river lark on sunday,i really do not know were to start as i am a complete novice to the pole, the river is reasonably slow moving can anyone out there advise me on the best way to fish, thanks

Guest big tinca

Come on guys,Gray,TROGG and the rest, give the guy some advice he is a NEW POSTER!

Hi Matt,

Any way mate to start off have you got a good selection of pole rigs together if not make a few up with different size floats, shotting pattern etc so you will be more prepared to tackle any situation.

What elastics have you got in the pole and what fish are you hopeing to catch,if you are intending to catch bigger fish you a bigger elastic like a 12 but if your after roach/perch use a 4/6.

Have you got any idea how to ship back and break down your sections?

When i started pole fishing i was that wrapped up that i had a pole that i use to practice shipping and up shipping in the garden.

It might sound stupid to you but it gives you a feel for the pole and helps determine what length you can fish at ease with.

Come on guys add to this POST!

------------------

Happy Tenching.

Big Tinca.

bigtinca@hotmail.com

Guest rondo
Originally posted by matthayes:

Ive just bought a second hand maver 11 metre pole of a friend,im hoping to use it on the river lark on sunday,i really do not know were to start as i am a complete novice to the pole, the river is reasonably slow moving can anyone out there advise me on the best way to fish, thanks

Matt.

I dont know the Lark but the main thing is to be comfortable handling the pole.

My advice is to spend a bit of time watching others and look at the way they are set-up.