My cool job!

Guest Bretty

• 31 years later...
Guest Bretty

Hi all,

I just got me a job last week, just for summer! (Thats harder then you think, see i'm a student and working is just something you don't do!)

Anyway after turning down numerous jobs from the agency including dustman work, handling raw meat and packing coleslaw I eventually landed a job for a large supermarket chain. I got this job as an orderpicker. I just whizz around on these little forklift sorta pallet truck things (an SL20 for those of you in the know) shifting pallets. It really is cool fun racing round on these things and i've got some money now, (cheques in the post elton wink.gif)

All sounds good and it is when you working in the ambient side where it's room temperature. It's just recently i've been put in the fridge at around 4'C which i thought was cold til they stuck me in the freezer yesterday afternoon. A massive warehouse at -28'C eek.gif That is the coldest i've ever been in my life!! My nose stopped running tho coz my snot had frozen after not even a minute wink.gif, And you can feel your face and ears freezing if you don't wear a balaclava (sp?) it's really quite amazing. I've never experience that before i'll never complain i am cold ever again.

Anyway i just thought that was quite interesting. It's been quit a shock to my system and despite wearing some really warm gloves my fingers are still numb. Has any one else been in this sorta environment? How do you do it?

Cool job huh! wink.gif

Bretty

[This message has been edited by Bretty (edited 16 July 2001).]

Guest Fatboy

Hi Bretty

According to my 2 nephews, holiday jobs are as rare as the proverbial rocking horse do-do

A couple of years ago, I went to Imatra, in South Eastern Finland (about 10 miles from the Russian border) in late January. The warmest it got to was the day of arrival in Helsinki where it was -8 Celcius. On one morning, I walked 400 metres from the paper mill's guest house to the offices.