Rock Fishing in NW Scotland

Man1000

I am a newbie and this is my first post. I have just moved up to the NW Highlands, my fishing has normally been from a boat around the Kent coast, with a bit of beachcasting thrown in. Can anybody help with any info regarding rock fishing or beachcasting from the coast anywhere from Gairloch to Kinlochbervie, tackle, bait, lures,angling shops,etc. I am new to this type of fishing and any info will be appreciated.

Welcome to God's own country.

I used to stay near Poolewe for many years and we still holiday up there all the time. I've fished a lot around Loch Ewe and Gairloch, where about are you based?

There are a couple of shops in Ullapool where you can buy tacke, but they are fairly limited so the best bet is mail order. I can recemmend Veals.

Bait is a case of catch/dig/pick your own, or again you can buy frozen bait in bulk mail order. I can recommend Baits Direct.

Let me know where you are and I'll try and be more specific about marks etc. I'll be across for 2 weeks in early July so we might be able to meet up for a session.

Best bit of advice I can give you is to purchase some Admirality charts then you will be able to pick out some deep spots. You will probably have a chance of catching fish such as thornback rays, spurdog and dogfish. I suggest you make some rigs up with luminous beads/tubing and remember to charge them up with a torch before casting out.

Many Thanks to Spanner & Saint_1877 for your replies and info.

I will be using mail order for tackle requirements. As for bait, I have been spoilt rotten being able to get fresh bait anytime on the south coast. Dig my own? I would'nt have a clue how to! I suppose frozen bait and lures will have to do.

Digging lug can be hard work but there are alternaitives and it doesn't have to be too hard to keep a freezer stocked.