Wannabe S. coast Kayak Angler

richsurfer

Hi everyone

I started sea kayaking this year and also coarse fishing after a 20 year layoff (must be the dreaded 40th birthday looming in the not too distant future prompting me to do new things). Anyway,stumbled across this forum and wow - combining my new found love of sea kayaking with fishing - I've got to do it.

I've already been sea kayaking around the Purbeck area and Poole harbour. Just added to the fleet with a Malibu 2 so I can take my two lads out for a paddle sometimes aswell. Fishing-wise I was hoping to be able to use the malibu 2 for the moment - here come the questions:

I am a total newb to sea fishing - what methods do you use from your kayaks - are there certain ones more suited to this style of fishing?

Do you fish while paddling, drifting or anchored up?

I was just going to use the homemade 'crate with outflow pipe rod holders' - (hopefully) securely strapped down. Is this strong enough to hold rods while fishing or are proper rod holders really required?

Hi Rich, welcome to AN :)

A homemade crate/pipe rod holders has worked well for me, though I usually hold the rod while fishing on the drift. As yet i've had nothing, of any decent size, to test the crate when using it to hold the rods while trolling.

Fishing methods will vary a lot around the country, but generally I'd say keep the gear as light as you can.

Chris

Chris

Help predict climate change!

http://climateprediction.net

Cheers Chris

I'm aiming to test the crate on Sunday - no wind or swell forecast so I might venture out around Kimmeridge or Lulworth area.

If I catch anything I'll probably fall out of the kayak in shock.

Hi there Wannabee - welcome to the friendliest forum of them all!

In answer to your question of how to fish, the asnwer is ALL 3! You can troll a lure while paddling out - and it makes sense to do that as you can pick up mackerel, pollack, garfish and the odd bass while trolling - yak speed is perfect.