Cleaning out the pond

eamonn321

I'm trying to pluck up courage to have a go at emptying my pond to remove the silt. I've never done this before and would appreciate some advice.

I can use the pump to take most of the water out and I have 3 plastic dustbins to put the fish in although I have 4-5 fish that are 12"-18" long which won't give them much room for swimming around. After I've removed all the muck from the pond what water should I put back? I thought perhaps the 3 dustbins worth of pond water but that will only put about a foot of water back. Should I just let it fill up with rain or is it safe to put some tap water in? Also, how long is it safe to keep the fish swimming round in circles in their dustbins for?

I will be doing the same job myself in a couple of weeks time. Only this time I have to replace the liner and build in a water fall so I will probably end up deepening and extending the thing at the same time.

As a result of past experience I intend to splash out and hire a drainage pump from a local tool hire shop. The average pond pump may be alright for a fountain and filter but they take for ever to empty even a comparatively small pond like mine whereas a proper drainage pump with a 2" hose will do the job in minutes. This means that the pond can be emptied and refilled a couple of times or more during a day so giving it a proper clean out.

As for refilling I have always just used tap water with one of the proprietary additives to get rid of the chlorine etc. without any apparent harm coming to the fish. In fact I use the same for my aquarium and there are Discus in that which are supposed to be very picky about their water condition. Having said that I have been reliably informed that the additives are not really necessary as the aeration effect as the water goes in does the job of getting rid of the chemicals just as well.