Blackwater Estuary

Sheepy

Hi

My Father in law has suggested we pop out for a fishing trip in his dori this summer. He is based on Mersea Island in the Blackwater estuary. However having only ever fished fresh water i wouldnt mind some advice from folks who know a considerable amount more than me. So for a start off i was thinking about lure fishing for Bass (and whatever else will have a go at the lure) as im hoping it would be possble to use my freshwater spinning kit. Is this a reasonable assumption? Then if it is what are the best fish holding areas, what part of the tide to fish and what lures??

So many questions in know but any advice for a complete novice would be great.

Cheers

Hi Sheepy,

My first sea fishing was in the Blackwater but that was many years ago. You need to get more up to date advice but there used to be some good sport with bass near the Power Station outlets, plenty of winter whiting, and in summer mullet were catchable around the marinas and harbour walls. All possible with sturdy freshwater gear!

If you have a dory, try spinning for mackeral in summer. Great fun - watch for clouds of gulls and terns, there might be school bass or mackeral underneath.

East Hampshire Boat Anglers www.boat-angling.co.uk

I was bought up on the River Blackwater, my farther ran a charter boat at Bradwell for 20 years.

Lure fishing can produce lots of bass at times.