Fishing near Northolt N/W London

raqman

Hi All fellow Anglers, a newbie here.

I have started fishing for about a month now, Staines, Colne Canal, Epping ( no luck yet lol) but wanted advice where the best place to fish is.

From what I am reading in the forums, it may seem savage for me to ask, but where can I fish and be lucky enough to catch something edible to take home proudly to the wife to cook for us all.

It seems that unless one goes fly fishing for £15 for 4 hours, it is illegal to catch big enough fish to take home.

Any advice will be apprieciated, thanks

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi mate, I used to live down the road in Ruislip.

There are loads of places to go round where you are.

I would start at the Grand Union canal in Northolt! Good fishing there, there is loads canal round you.

Try the canal that runs under the A40 as you head towards London on the left hand side, I think there used to be a golf range there and the high nets used to back onto the canal. Loads of Roach and the usual canal fish are there.

If you head towards Uxbridge you come across the canal again and can fish either side of the A40 as well. Also Harefield is well worth fishing again thats on the canal.

There are loads of lakes in the Colne valley, nearly all private but I think you can fish the Rickmansworth Aquadrome on a day ticket.

Nearer home you have the Ruislip Lido, I used to fish there thirty odd years ago, I think thats day ticket too.

I would aim for the canal in your area mate, it's all over the place, around Northolt, Greenford, Southall, Harefield, Uxbridge, Watford etc etc!

You say you have fished in Epping?, I live there and there are loads of ponds stuffed with fish and are free to fish. Just don't even think about taking fish home with you whatever the size mate, thats not what fishing is about is it.