Computer problems

My computer usually runs without any problems at all, and I'm very careful indeed at avoiding sites I don't know. However yesterday I was watching a music video (something I've never done before, partly because our broadband is so slow), and the computer froze. After several attempts at restarting it, the computer still ran extremely slowly indeed and also needed a start-up repair on shutdown.

I ran Malwarebytes (nothing showed here) and the paid for version of AVG. The latter picked up and got rid of some tracking cookies (Revski). After that everything was fine.

However a little later I had an update for Google Chrome (IE9 is my default browser, Vista the OS). I always do my updates via Secunia for safety as I've had false update requests for Adobe products before. The Babylon search engine came up (I've had this tried before) including a tick box to disable AVG Safe Search. I deleted the Babylon page and checked with CCleaner that any Babylon cookies were still being deleted on every clean (they were).

So some questions:

Can a tracking cookie cause such problems?

Is there anything further I need to do now?

The paid-for version of AVG is set up to run daily, I run Malwarebytes every couple of weeks, Secunia checks for program updates weekly, plus I have Spybot running in the background. Windows Defender is disabled - is it OK to reactivate this?

Is there anything further I can do to prevent this happening?

Wingham Specimen Coarse & Carp Syndicates www.winghamfisheries.co.uk Beautiful, peaceful, little fished gravel pit syndicates in Kent with very big fish. 2017 Forum Fish-In Sat May 6 to Mon May 8. Articles http://www.anglersnet.co.uk/steveburke.htm Index of all my articles on Angler's Net

tracking cookies wont cause an issue at all: they simply do what they say on the tin...allow a website to "track" whether you have visted before or not...ie store info for advertising, username and password, last visit date and time etc