Which Rod ? Which Reel ? Braid?

spuds

Hello guys.I'm wondering what rod would be recommended as suitable for kayak fishing at Anchor/Drift for Tope Pollock Bass etc.I already have a suitable spinning outfit for trolling lures and mackie bashing.I have an abu 6500gr and a 7000 red reel which i would use for the new rod.The Ugly stik 15lb looked about right but i was wondering if this would be too heavy.

I have 15lb mono on the Reels and also wondered if i should switch to braid.

Much obliged Spuds. :)

Hobie Mirage Outback.

Spuds

If you can find a supplier in the U.K take a look at the Rogue rods. I have an 8ft swimbait sb807. They are a fantastic rod and outshine the uglystick for power to weight. Coupled with a 6500 size reel it will cover most fishing situations. They are expensive but worth the money.

Take a look here http://www.roguerods.com/swimbaitrods.htm

1 on the lure is worth 2 from the bait.

Location Pembrokeshire

Kayak's

OK Prowler Trident Yellow

Kaskazi Pelican Orange on White ( CEZI B ) from www.kayakuk.com

Wilderness Tarpon 120 Yellow

Dughters Kayak OK Venus Blue & White (Kristi Boo)

Cobra Fish & Dive Blue

Tamar For Angle R.N.L.I

Good one Spuds

Almost as personal as buying a yak. :)

But here goes. I like to fish light and with a 14' plus yak a 6' rod aint no good. So my choice for Bass and Pollock and most other species is Fladen 6lb rod. At 7'6" its the perfect length, the quality is way beyond the price and I couple that with a small Shimano Bait Caster (170yds of 12lb line). I keep the line at 12lb for abrasion resistance as is the nature of my kind of fishing (in amongst the rocks) but will sometimes use a lighter fluoro snood 6-9lb. Good sport and if I lose the lot it wont break the bank. Both have been repeatedly dunked and with a wash they come back for more.