Braid help please

skippytheroo

Hi all

Ive been tasked with loading up my friends reel with braid that he bought. Im a bit of a novice with the different types of braid and the stuff he has bought is called berkely Iron Silk. It feels completely different to the braid I bought which is more like string. This Iron Silk feels more like mono. Im trying to fit 300yds of it onto a sl30sh and before I break into the spool I want to make sure its the right stuff. Its for using on a boat wrecking for cod ling etc Trip is tomorrow so its gonna be a mad dash into town to get it swapped if its the wrong stuff

Regards

Skippy

So many questions so little time....

skippytheroo:

Hi all

Ive been tasked with loading up my friends reel with braid that he bought. Im a bit of a novice with the different types of braid and the stuff he has bought is called berkely Iron Silk. It feels completely different to the braid I bought which is more like string. This Iron Silk feels more like mono. Im trying to fit 300yds of it onto a sl30sh and before I break into the spool I want to make sure its the right stuff. Its for using on a boat wrecking for cod ling etc Trip is tomorrow so its gonna be a mad dash into town to get it swapped if its the wrong stuff

Regards

:cool: Hi, Iron Silk is not a braid, it's a co-polymer nylon. Although it is thinner than some lines and has less stech it's not as thin as braid.

You may get 300 yds on a SLOSH 30 but I'm not sure, you will get 300 yds of braid on it, in fact some of the Iron Silk will do as backing. :D