Search for filenames with non-standard characters?

philocalist

Bit of an odd one this: as an ex pro photographer, I have many thousands of files that I need to sort for duplicates, typically a folder containing many subfolders, and the root folder might contain in excess of 100,000 files.

Now, I have very good software that would normally handle a job like this very nicely, the problem is that it is being stalled by SOME of the files in there. In simple terms it normally scans each file in there to create a data file, then looks for dupes within the data file. What is happening now is that it WILL scan the folder / subfolders OK, and produces said data file: it will also identify the duplicate files within there. What would normally happen next is that I would have the option to delete or move duplicate files (according to criteria I set), either manually or automatically (and the auto route is the one normally taken, as a scan of a typical folder may weel turn up in excess of 10,000 dupes - manually deleting each one is not really an option!)

The problem is that now, the software is refusing to delete anything after identifying the dupes.

A bit of head scratching and a couple of emails to the software vendor seems to indicate that the problem is filenames that contain non-qwerty standard characters. If for example, a filename contains say Japanese characters, or even some of the characters used in mainland Europe that have accents attached, or are characters similar to UK ones, but not in use in the UK, the software will go no further.

So the question is, can anyone think of a way that I can search within said root folders / subfolders for filenames that contain characters not used in the UK alphabet.

I'm currently facing this problem on a Vista PC, but could easily run it on a Windows 7 or 8 PC if there was a solution there?