new to kayaking isle of wight

danny.b

hi all i have just become the proud owner of a ocean kayak caper and was wondering if there was any one that uses this forum from the isle of wight that would be willing to let me tag along with them when they go out, as I'm new to this and would feel a lot more comfortable (and safer) if i was going out with some one who has a lot more experience than me. to start with i will be just getting used to it in my local harbour but any help would be very welcome

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Danny,

judging by the number of replies you have had there isn't anyone on the Isle of Wight to meet up.

Maybe you should try posting on the overseas website :headhurt:

Richi goes out inside the Neeedles race a fair bit given favourable wind and tide. But you shouldn't go out there until you have the technique and stamina to paddle out and back. He has already had experience of one chap who couldn't paddle a couple of hundred yards against the tide, and that was in the harbour.

You need to get out and get some miles in. A good 3 mile paddle will soon show you how fit you need to be. Just paddle along the coastline and back, just outside the shore break to begin with. You could take a spinning rod with you and a few lures to relieve the boredom - but you won't actually get bored, even just paddling will soon become addictive. There is always plenty going on to keep you occupied.

Simon Everett

Staffordshire.

Fishing kayaks:

White& Orange Dorado

Olive Scupper Pro

Yellow Prowler Elite

Touring kayaks

Red White Skua

White & Orange Duo

Welcome to the forum, there are a few of us from Southampton area maybe we could meet half way :rolleyes:

Lat/Long :- N50°58.366 W001°26.468

I must go down to the sea again

To the lonely sea and sky

I left my shoes and socks there

I wonder if they're dry?