Five to be enshrined into IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame

Ninth annual
event honors contributions to the sport of

DANIA BEACH, Fla. --- The quintessential lady fly angler, the dean
of outdoor writers, a man who revolutionized rod making and two
extraordinary bill fishermen will be inducted into the International
Game Fish Association Fishing Hall of Fame, this fall.  The
class of 2007 includes Homer
Circle, Dr. Ruben Jaen, Gary Loomis, Capt. Peter B.
, and Joan
Salvato Wulff.

The highlight of the
weekend of activities (Oct. 19 – 21) is the star-studded enshrinement
ceremony and dinner Saturday, October 20, at the IGFA Fishing Hall of
Fame & Museum in Dania Beach, Fla., USA. The public is

The honorees were selected for the
important contributions they have made to the sport of fishing through
angling achievements, literature, the arts, science, education,
communication, invention or administration of fishery resources. The
five inductees and their contributions are:

The dean of North
American outdoor writers, Homer Circle has covered the fishing scene
for more than 50 years, including more than 35 years as angling editor
of Sports Afield magazine.  A noted bass authority, "Uncle
Homer" is a tackle designer, teacher, lecturer, and has starred in more
than 50 fishing films.  
Dr. Ruben
A legend in
Venezuelan fishing, Dr. Ruben Jaen is a pioneer of light-tackle bill
fishing in that country. This cardiovascular surgeon introduced
night-time sword fishing and caught the first broadbill in Caribbean
waters. He has released more than 3,000 billfish and was instrumental
in protecting the La Guaira Bank from commercial fishing interests. Dr.
Jaen is also an author and served for 16 years on the IGFA Board of

Gary Loomis    
Gary Loomis revolutionized tackle design with his advances in
graphite rod production, and G Loomis went on to become one of the most
successful rod-making companies in the U.S.  In 1995, Loomis
launched "Fish First", a non-profit organization dedicated to restoring
steelhead and salmon runs in Washington State.  
Peter B. Wright  
Captain Peter B.
Wright is a world-renowned angler, scientist, journalist, consultant,
and an advocate of circle hooks and tag-and- release.  As a
captain, he's fished waters all over the world, has won dozens of
tournaments, and has guided numerous anglers to world records, in the
process, catching more granders than anyone in history.
Salvato Wulff  
Joan Salvato Wulff is the most influential woman in fly
fishing.  A tournament caster for more than 20 years, she won
18 titles while raising casting to an art form.  She continues
to share her expertise in books, films, and at the Wulff School of Fly
Fishing, and remains committed to the conservation of Atlantic salmon
fisheries. Joan has served on the IGFA Board of Trustees since February
There are currently 65 Hall of Fame members
enshrined including Ernest Hemingway, Zane Grey, Curt Gowdy, Ted
Williams, Lee Wulff, Michael and Helen Lerner, Philip Wylie, Ray Scott,
Johnny Morris and John Rybovich.

Tickets are
$200 and include the cocktail reception beginning at 6 p.m., silent
auction, dinner and the induction ceremony beginning at 7:30 p.m.
Special sponsorships and sponsor tables are available.  For
reservation information please call 954-924-4222. 

The IGFA is a nonprofit, membership-supported,
conservation and record-keeping organization founded in 1939 with
members in over 120 countries. The association welcomes visitors to the
60,000 square foot IGFA Fishing Hall of Fame and Museum in Dania Beach,
Florida. For further information, contact Lesley Arico at the
International Game Fish Association, 300 Gulf Stream Way, Dania Beach,
Florida 33004   Email:  or
by phone (954) 927-2628 Fax (954) 924-4299.