Rod advice please

Croix

Hi,

Looking for some advice/recommendations for a suitable allround fly rod for medium rivers and stillwaters, I'm thinking of something around 9' or 9'6" probably around a 7 weight. I have very little experience of fly rods or fly casting and would value some advice on the action of the rod - medium, medium/fast, fast, etc.

Are the more expensive rods easier and nicer to cast with ? I know from using a variety of spinning/lure rods over the years that the better quality rods for this type of fishing are certainly nicer to cast with and play fish on, I pressume the same applies in fly fishing ?

Expecting to spend upto £200ish, so not really looking at Sage, Loomis, etc.

The Greys GRX (£90ish) has been recommended to me, any views on this rod ?

Thanks for any help.

my greys missionary takes some beating, its 9'3", 6 - 7 weight. but the main thing about it is its 6 piece, so its great for travelling.

you dont have to spend £200

best thing to do though is try a few out, walkers in trowell have a good selection, though they're not exactly wonderful at customer service so not sure they'll let you try them out, but they do have a pond you can practice casting in, lessons are about 15 quid i think

Cheers Jon, I'll probably go to Walkers on Tues and have a look, I think the customer service there depends on who serves you, some of the staff are excellent, others are tossers.

PS, Is there any downside to having a multi piece rod against a 2 piece one ?

[ 27. March 2005, 04:51 PM: Message edited by: Croix ]

The number of rods about at the moment that would suit are endless, but I'd stick with the Greys. good value for money and an unbeatable (for the price) warranty. Although if its for medium rivers and stillwaters, then a 6 weight might be more appropriate.

[ 28. March 2005, 03:35 PM: Message edited by: argyll ]

'I've got a mind like a steel wassitsname'