What charger

Martin Hurst

Got a 3.3ah battery for the sonar (hate the words Fish Finder!!). Can i use my 12v car battery charger (8 amps) or is that going to blow the house up. Advice appreciated as these electrics arent my strong point!!

Also note differing advice re an inline fuse. Purchased my finder from a reputable dealer who advised that despite all the manufacturers advice to fit one , it was irrelevant as long as the battery was removed from the unit when charging!! :unsure:

Ok Prowler 13

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Martin,

I'm not an electrician, but when I bought my 3.3ah battery I bought the charger with it from Maplin, the charger is designed for that specific ampage of battery. When checking out the chargers I found that you needed a different charger for the 7.2ah, there has to be a reason for it, surely it can't be that they want you to spend £20 everytime you get a different battery, or can it. Personally I'd get the right charger.

As for the fuse, I was advised by Humminbird to put one in, can't hurt, going without could. The choice is yours.

SM :)

http://www.anglersafloat.co.uk

Kayaks: Ocean Kayak Caper (Sunrise)

Ocean Kayak Scupper Pro

Ocean Kayak Malibu 2 XL (Sunrise)

Ocean Kayak Trident 15

Wilderness Systems Tarpon 140 Angler (Yellow)

Malibu Mini-X

A member of B.A.S.S www.ukbass.com

The Lowrance units from JK Max are supplied with a 3 amp inline fuse. Like SM not an electrician but guessing they are supplying for a reason.

Fished since 2003, the rest of my life I just wasted.

Southampton, Scupper Pro TW Angler: Yarak2.

Member of the OK fishing Team ( I have had free bits) :-)

Hi Martin,

Charging SLA's (sealed lead acid) batteries at to high a rate can reduce their capacity to hold charge and seriously shorten their life. As Starvin says get the right charger :thumbs: .