New Member in Watford

navybloke

Hello to all other forum members. My name's John Walker, I'm a naval officer working at a military headquarters just outside Watford. I'm due to move into the Headquarters mess from next month for a year, and will be commuting home at weekends. That's all a roundabout way of saying that I'd like to really, REALLY organise my Mon-Fri time to get some fishing in. I'm looking for pointers towards the following options within easy after-work driving distance of Watford:

- Carp overnighters - I'm thinking of Batchworth or Farlows, any other local ideas?

- Barbel & Chub evening/night - The Colne or the Thames...but the Colne seems all day-only and the Thames is dauntingly huge.

- Zander - Bury Hill, obviously, if I can get there early enough of an evening.

Thanks for any help or advice that's forthcoming, and I look forward to a good look round this forum!

Cheers,

John

Hi John. I can't help myself but welcome to the Forum. :)

Wingham Specimen Coarse & Carp Syndicates www.winghamfisheries.co.uk Beautiful, peaceful, little fished gravel pit syndicates in Kent with very big fish. 2017 Forum Fish-In Sat May 6 to Mon May 8. Articles http://www.anglersnet.co.uk/steveburke.htm Index of all my articles on Angler's Net

Hi John. I can't help myself but welcome to the Forum. :)

Thanks for the reply...and with your big perch reputation you might well be able to help! The last fish I caught (a week ago) was a 2lb 10oz perch from the Kennet, and if there's another thing I'd like to try over the winter/spring it's a few more twos (and maybe threes?) in my landing net.

Venue-wise - I've got Aldenham Reservoir local, hopefully good for a couple of hours in the afternoon/evening through the winter. The Thames at Staines is just down the road. Plus, maybe there's some commercials or gravel pits locally with a reputation for big perch.