The first OK Classic Kayak Fishing Tournament held at Swanage on the 5th June has raised £500 for the local RNLI Lifeboat Station. Perfect weather conditions made for a great day as 43 competitors took to the water and a total of 17 different fish species were caught in this catch and release competition.

Joint winners John Elsdon and Amos Mack caught 6 different species each and they both go away with a fantastic prize of a complete Ocean Kayak Prowler Ultra 4.7 fishing kayak worth £999. On the day it was thought that Amos was the overall winner, but later identification of an additional species from John means that he will now also get his very own Ocean Kayak Prowler Ultra 4.7 fishing kayak.

Kayaks assemble before the start of the tournamentIn second place was David Lear who won a colour GPS Humminbird fishfinder and in third place David Harrison received an Escape buoyancy aid. Additional consolation and fun prizes were given to anglers who had made their own unique contribution to what was a highly enjoyable event.

The competition was sponsored by Johnson Outdoors UK and supported by AnglersAfloat. Johnson Outdoors MD Andrew Dron commented: “It was a great day and we’re delighted that so many kayak fishing enthusiasts were able to take part. We’re also very grateful for all the support we had from everyone who helped make the day so successful and in particular to Swanage Tourist Board who were very helpful.”

Martin Steeden, who received the donation on  behalf of the RNLI, was very impressed with the tournament results and said: “I have my own boat here and the most species I have ever caught at once is four so hats off to all the kayak fishermen who have done so well here at Swanage.” The species caught on the day were: Pollack, Ballan Wrasse, Dogfish, Mackerel, Undulate Ray, Corkwing Wrasse, Pout, Black Bream, Bass, Plaice, Starry Smoothhound, Greater Sandeel, Goldsinny, Smelt, Butterfish, Common Smoothhound and Smalleyed Ray.

Kayak Fishing Tournament
Martin Steeden, Coxswain of the Swanage Lifeboat and Dave Turnbull, Lifeboat Station Mechanic accepted the cheque on behalf of the RNLI from one of the winners Amos Mack and David Morris from AnglersAfloat