Catfish tips

chris mc

Hi,i've done variouse searches across the net looking tips on cat fishing(freshwater lakes),and can't find much at all,so i wos just woundering if anyone on here could give me some helpfull tips?

So far ive gathered they feed mostly of a night,and more in the hotter weather,they tend to feed on the bottom but sometimes will take small fish of the top.I read someware that there mouths are like sand paper and can rub against your line eventually causing it to snap,is there anyway round this,as i know wire traces rip there mouths to bits?

Cherrs

Hi Chris,I dont know about being the main man! but have done a lot of catting both here in the UK and abroad.I also worked as a guide for them as well.

Suprised you couldnt find anything on the Web to help you as there is quite a bit.To answer your initial questions though-

Although feeding mainly at night they can still be caught during the day.

Contary to popular belief they will feed at all depths.

Although they are sometimes caught on milder days in the winter summer is generaly more productive.

The "sand paper" effect is caused by the teeth or "pads" as they are called.These are best likened to velcro! they are used for both grabbing the prey and moving it down to their stomachs.Although not sharp like a pikes teeth they will wear through hook lengths.As you quite correctly say wire is not the answer here.I have always found that Kryston "Quicksilver" does the job here.It comes in several breaking strains from 25lb up to its beefed up version "Ton Up" in 85lb.I used the 25lb for fish up to 35lb in the UK and although I now use the Ton Up for all my foreign work I have had many treble figure cats on the standard 45lb.

Posted Image

Well hoped that answered your questions if there is anything else you would like to know just ask.

And thats my "non indicative opinion"!