UVC FILTER QUESTION

Tyke

I have just bought a second hand uvc filter but found the box part of the filter to be cracked.

The lid with the uvc in is fine so i have cut a section from my normal filter box lid and fitted the smaller uvc lid on my old filter.

Does the filter inside have to be in complete darkness to work as the square i cut wasent a perfect fit and there is a slight gap letting the light in.

The uvc lid is ok though.

I am not an expert but from experience the UVC will do most of the work killing the bugs that make water cloudy, the biological filter would need to be in darkness to work best when its on its own but works well enough as a mechanical filter when combined with a UV thing. Make sure the bulb is working if its second-hand though, they only last a year or two.

East Hampshire Boat Anglers www.boat-angling.co.uk

Yes the bulb is working fine as i had a peek inside.

I dont expect 100% clearance but as long as i can see near the bottom ill be happy.

I will cover the little gaps up if i dont see any improvement in a couple of weeks.

Thanks for the replys.. :D

Remember that the UV bulbs lose their efficiency over time, even though they still may seem as bright as before. If the filter is more than a couple of years old may be worth investing in a new tube anyway.

DISCLAIMER: All opinions herein are fictitious. Any similarities to real

opinions, living or dead, are entirely coincidental.