4 years no Specimen

me

I've been fishing for 4 years now and i've never caught a specimen. I mostly go carp fishing and keep trying to catch a specimen fish. The biggest I've caught is only 7.5 lb. What should I do?

Nathan

Genuine Taff

Probably...

Richard Walker answered a similar question in the introduction to "Still-Water Angling", which I'd suggest every budding specimen hunter should read. To paraphrase what he wrote on catching specimens you should:

1) Fish in the right place

2) At the right time

3) With the right bait

4) With the right tackle

5) And avoid scaring the fish

If I fail to catch a big fish (not uncommon!), by answering the above questions I can often work out why, and do something about it.

Looking at the 5 principles in more detail, the first is vital. It starts with finding the right water. If your waters don't contain fish that have reached specimen size you'll either have to take pleasure in catching fish that are good for the water. Alternatively, you'll have to search out new waters.

Having found the water, it's often very important to fish the right swim. Very often the big fish will bully smaller ones away from the prime spots. This may mean a lot of observation without wetting a line - except for plumbing the depths to find features. Then even when you've found the right swim you may find that one tiny area is best.

Specimen fish often feed at times that are inconvenient to anglers. For instance you'll often find them come on to the feed just as many anglers are packing up. This is especially so in the evening, when dusk can often be a prime feeding time - right throughout the year.