tips for unhooking small fish ?

Andy_1984

id be greatful if any of you can give me tips to unhook smaller fish like under 10oz without damaging them or killing them. im still learning alot and getting better each time but im finding it hard to unhook these small fish that have took the hook prety far down without killing it. i use size 4" curved forcepts hooks are 20's or 10's

thanks

[ 02. September 2005, 02:12 PM: Message edited by: Andy_1984 ]

Owner of Tacklesack.co.uk

Moderator at The-Pikers-Pit.co.uk

Even better use a micro disgorger

Micro

(the top one)

Even with barbless hooks I've found that sometimes it's almost impossible to remove. Firstly, find out what side of the fish the hook is hooked in. Keep the line tight (not too tight though) and thread the disgorger down the line until it reaches the hook. Then push down to release the hook.

The best time to fish is when you have a chance.

As already said, use a disgorger instead of the forceps, barbless hooks will also make things easier.

The other thing you could do is to look at your terminal arrangement, you may need to alter your shotting to try and see the bites earlier and avoid the deep hooking.

The first thing to try would be to move the bottom shot nearer to the hook, maybe also check the depth carefully and don't have too much line laid on the bottom.

thanks guys, i have a disgorger here but i forgot to try it on smaller fish but ill definetly use it the next time, i think the problem is that i cant see the hook, i can feel the hook unhooking but i think the problem is that im hooking it again because i cant see very well.

ive been thinking about these barbles hooks and ive heard people say how they lose fish because of them but then hear people say that its not the barbles hook thats losing them, cany anyone clarify cause barbles hooks would sure as hell make my unhooking alot easier