Particals

Fat boy

Been looking for a venue to fish next year and have been surffing da web and most

places in england seam to have banned all particales.

So why do they say this then go on and allow hemp, casters, corn, tares etc. which are good baits but are still particles are they not?

I know it is cos of fish welfear but i have been preparing particales for near on 15 years ( im only 24) and have never had a problem as there is loads of info on how to propare them properly out there, is it a case of the lazy are spoilling it for the rest of us Or is it a case of fishery owners trying to make a quick buck by making us buy it from them?

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Fat Boy,

Bit of both I think, There's still a sizable number of anglers out there that do not prepare particles properly & they do spoil it for the rest.

There is a reasonable argument for fishery owners to ban particles on the grounds of welfare of the fish, but of course it does leave the field open for a bit of profiteering by suppling the only bait allowed to be used.

Interesting that you class Casters as a particle, I've always viewed particles as seeds, but I can see your reasoning. Does anyone else class Casters, maggots etc as particles

Peter.

The loose lines gone..STRIKE.

Particles are often banned on waters that attract the less experienced angler. Few syndicates seem to ban them though, probably as the members tend to be more experienced.

At Wingham I don't ban particles, just nuts. It's nothing to do with poor preparation, that wouldn't be a problem with my members. Rather it's because nuts seem to adversely affect the growth of the carp. When they're full of nuts they aren't eating food that puts weight on them.

Particles are underused these days. The Carp Lake at Wingham contains nothing but carp and pike, but nearly all the members use boilies nearly all the time. Being a very rich water it's the perfect place to use particles!