Buzzers - fat or thin ?

JustOneLastCast

I'm relatively new to fly fishing but this is my understanding and my observations. (hope they are close to the mark :) )

Shipman's buzzers imitate the emerging Midge and are fished on/in/or just under the surface film. They imitate that moment when the midge is trapped momentarily before it emerges and flies off.

Epoxy/superglue buzzers imitate the midge as it makes it's journey from lake bed to the surface.

If the fish are having it on a buzzer hatch then you can generally make a call as what to use by studying them feeding. If you see mouths then the fish are taking emergers (you can often spot a fly appear and get engulfed), if the fish are just pushing the water making tail patterns of swirling then i'd go for a Epoxy/superglue buzzer or a Diawl Bach. If you see no signs of fish on the surface then that does not mean they are not feeding on them. Buzzers make up a massive part of the trouts diet. they are just feeding deeper.

Better still fish a team of buzzers, covering your options, when you have an idea of whats happening change your team to maximise your chances.

Remember, any retrieve is generally too fast with these flies. Though I have found the occasional tweak, or lift to allow the fly to fall back down the layers can bring instant results.

Singy

Paul Singleton

Thanks for your excellent and speedy response.

I 'kind a' fluffed all last year - only used fast sinking line and boobies. I caught loads of fish but I've got fed up with just bottom trawling. These buzzers seem a lot more interesting .

Seems like I should only use a Shipmans buzzer when I can see surface movement.

Am I correct in believing that the most common buzzers are black or red?

Is a good epoxy buzzer a black body and red thorax?

Sorry so many questions , but I just want to learn and also confirm what I think I've read is correct