Walthamstow Resevoirs - any tips

Unimexsol

My dad, my cousin and myself are likely to go fly fishing at Walthamstow Resevoirs next week. Whilst my dad is a pretty good angler, I'm a novice and my cousin is a complete beginner.

Any hints or tips about where to fish, what fly to use, dry or wet etc would be most gratefully received.

Umm, I live in Walthamstow and I'd find somewhere else to fish !

Ian

"If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving isn't for you"

Sorry, just noticed this was the Fly forum ! :wallbash:

I thought you were going to the main coarse reservoirs, sorry. Never really fly fished them but I found a link here from last year that might help.

Ian

`Not fished there for donkeys years.However,i understand that the place is crawling with cormorants,hence its nickname cormorant city :yucky::unsure: .

I fished Nortons not that long ago(which is not a million miles away from there) and the guy there said that it was crawling with them,he too having a few problems himself.Have also read posts elswhere about the problem and subsequently the poor fishing that goes with it.

Personally i think i would rather try elswhere.

Shame as it used to be quite a popular venue.

`Not fished there for donkeys years.However,i understand that the place is crawling with cormorants,hence its nickname cormorant city :yucky::unsure: .

I fished Nortons not that long ago(which is not a million miles away from there) and the guy there said that it was crawling with them,he too having a few problems himself.Have also read posts elswhere about the problem and subsequently the poor fishing that goes with it.

Personally i think i would rather try elswhere.

Shame as it used to be quite a popular venue.