BEACH CASTING IN TOBAGO - WEST INDIES

novice fisherman

I am a complete novice, never having done 'beach casting' before. I will be going to Tobago for about 6 months, and believe it would be a good place to do this type of fishing. My only experience with ANY type of fishing, was years ago, fishing from a boat. I would welcome advise on: 1. Types of rods, reels and other items necessary to do this type of fishing,{everything}. 2. Hints on how to go about doing 'beach casting' or the name of a good book on the subject. Thanks.

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

novice fisherman:

I am a complete novice, never having done 'beach casting' before. I will be going to Tobago for about 6 months, and believe it would be a good place to do this type of fishing. My only experience with ANY type of fishing, was years ago, fishing from a boat. I would welcome advise on: 1. Types of rods, reels and other items necessary to do this type of fishing,{everything}. 2. Hints on how to go about doing 'beach casting' or the name of a good book on the subject. Thanks.

I have been watching this topic and think there are several reasons for the lack of response.

The subject is too big.

Not many people know the area that you will be fishing.

It also looks (sorry about this) that there is some kind of lead on to possible spam.

Having said the above, as an angler I would go there and follow the locals and expats in there choice of tackle, rigs etc then ask them for advice on the best place to buy, possibly another expat on his way home would part with his gear at a reasonable price.

A google search may come up with some help.

Good luck and tight lines.

Alan(nl)

ANMC Founder Member. . www.the-lounge.org.uk/valley/