Braid

mallycarroll

Can anyone help with the following.

I'm new to fishing and currently using 18lb line with 50lb shock leader. I have heard of this braid line!!

1. Is it any good :confused:

2. I've heard of people using 65lb right through(no leader) :confused:

3. If I was to use it can I use 18lb and 50lb leader? (will it join well) :confused:

Please any advice and also any good makes

Happy new year to you all

Mally

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi

In my opinion (for boat fishing) to answer your questions:

1. Yes, its fantastic and gives you much much better bite detection and does not drag in the tide anywhere near as much as mono of the same diameter. You feel in much more direct connection with a hooked fish, but due to the very little strech nature of braid you feel every tug of the fish, and if drag on reel is not set correctly hooks can come out of a fishes mouth slighly easier than with mono since there is no stretch. I throughly recommend it for boat fishing - unless you are only doing inshore fishing over reef in very shallow waters etc.

2. I know people whom just use 50lbs right through, and swear by it.

3. You can join them very easily, there was a posting on here a few weeks back regarding this.

If you are talking about beach fishing, well I don't know - as I've never tried it. I do hear tales of anglers complaining that due to it's lightness that the wind easily catches onto it and leaves it wrapped around the tip after casting, which can be annoying.

Some friends I have used to use it for inshore spinning, but since they were usually spinning for Pollack - and tackle losses over snaggy ground were high they stopped using it, as they were loosing so much line - and the stuff is not cheap.

Gillies :)

tha fis agam a bhe iasg nuth dunidh sasain!

www.gilliesmackenzie.com

Great for many boat applications .....always use 15' of mono shock-absorber which should be about 5lbs less than the braid bs.