Baits that blow out

borntofish

Why do we say a bait blows, I have been using the same bait for close on twenty years in the same water and I still land fish. I do try new baits some are better or I land bigger fish on certain baits

I keep and breed Koi for a hobby and it is harder to change the diet of the koi onto a new type of food, to say change from pellets that float to pellets that sink.

Surly once you have got fish onto your bait it should not have to change. I read things like I used to catch fish with bread now I have to use boilies.

I just want to get the feeling of the forum on this.

Roger

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

99.9% of it is people looking for excuses to blame their poor results on. I don't believe any baits blow - certainly not boilies ! The only one I could possibly accept is corn/maize if used to extreme but even then I doubt it.

Rob.

Rob,

That is one bait, I know for sure cannot blow is maize, it is used by thousands here in South Africa and tons of fish are taked on maize.

I mean the recipie for maize paste has stayed the same for forty years I have fished, one cup cake flour, three cups of maize meal, cooked in four cups of water, add sugar if you want to. I can tell you tons of fish fall to that bait every day.

Roger

I can assure you chaps, a bait certainly can blow! However there is a set of circumstances needed for it to happen.

firstly overuse of a bait with very few freebies going in, if the only time they see a bait there is a good chance they're going to get hooked on it, they will soon tie the two together. But maintaining prebaiting when not fishing will keep them coming it's far more difficult to make that link.

Secondly, food value, a good quality bait will keep on going long after the runs dry up with a poor quality bait.