Trotting Rod length?

thamesoddity

I've been using a 12 foot trotting rod for a couple of years now on medium sized rivers e.g. the Lower Itchen, the Kennet etc., and have found I've been constantly outdone by my regular fishing partner (nick S) who uses a longer rod than I.

I was wondering what the more experienced members would say is the optimum length of trotting rod for rivers like the Test, Itchen and Kennet when one is expecting to mostly encounter fish ranging from a couple of ounces to a couple of pounds.

I'm considering buying a 15 footer, would this be a good length?

I've been using a 12 foot trotting rod for a couple of years now on medium sized rivers e.g. the Lower Itchen, the Kennet etc., and have found I've been constantly outdone by my regular fishing partner (nick S) who uses a longer rod than I.

I was wondering what the more experienced members would say is the optimum length of trotting rod for rivers like the Test, Itchen and Kennet when one is expecting to mostly encounter fish ranging from a couple of ounces to a couple of pounds.

Perfect IMO!!! Its what I've used for years and years on just such venues!!!

This is my weapon of choice....

http://www.anglersnet.co.uk/tackle-and-bai...-float-rod.html

:rolleyes:

C.

"Study to be quiet." ><((º> My Blog

A 15' rod will give you 3' more reach over a 12' rod when you fish off the rod tip. How wide is the Lower Itchen, the Kennet etc? It might help a bit in some pegs, but in general it won't open up that much more water for you IMO.

Having the ability to trot beyond the rod tip will open up a lot more water for you. To trot beyond the rod tip you need to mend the line to keep it up stream of your float so you can hold back with out pulling it off line. You will get a bit more height and reach with a longer rod to help you do this, but if you can't mend your line with a 12 footer you won't be able to with a 15 footer either IMO.

A tiger does not lose sleep over the opinion of sheep